Governor General, had recommended and assisted the founding of the Academy. One of the three tasks he assigned to that institution was the establishment of a National Gallery at the seat of government. By Act of Parliament in 1913, re-enacted in 1951, the National Gallery was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council and now operates under the National Gallery Act (RSC 1952, c. 186). It is responsible to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development, care and display of the national art collections. Its services to the public include the operation of a large reference library on the history of art and related subjects; the operation of an Exhibition Extension Service through which travelling exhibitions, lectures and the showing of art films, and guided tours of the Gallery at Ottawa are conducted; and the production of art publications and reproductions.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of Halifax, N.S.; Saint John, N.B.; Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Vancouver, B.C.; and Churchill, Man.; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges at Montreal, Que.; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council.—This is an agency of the Canadian Government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The Council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Haliax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian university and industrial laboratories; sponsors Associate Committees co-ordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and maintains the nation's primary physical standards. Other activities include the provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; the publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in International Scientific unions. The Council also has the duty of advising the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research on questions of scientific and technological methods affecting the expansion of Canadian industries or the utilization of the country's natural resources. Patentable inventions developed in the Council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited (see p. 119). The National Research Council consists of a President, three Vice Presidents, and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. The Council is incorporated under the Research Council Act (RSC 1952, c. 239, as amended), and reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Industry).

Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to provide electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956. The Commission is composed of a Chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commission operates four hydro-electric plants, two of which are located in the Northwest Territories on the Snare River near Yellowknife, and two in the Yukon Territory on the Yukon River at Whitehorse and on the Mayo River near Mayo, and diesel electric plants at Fort Smith, Fort Simpson, Fort Resolution, Aklavik and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and Field, B.C., and a diesel power and central heating plant and water supply and sewerage systems at Inuvik, N.W.T.; the Commission also operates, on behalf of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, a small diesel electric and heating plant at Fort Simpson, N.W.T., and a central heating plant

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Office of the Representation Commissioner.—This Office was established in 1963 under the provisions of the Representation Commissioner Act (SC 1963, c.40) and is responsible for preparing maps showing the distribution of population in each province and setting out alternative proposals respecting the boundaries of electoral districts in each province. In addition, it is required to make a review and study methods of registration of electors and absentee voting used in elections of other countries; it reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of government warbuilt ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appro-